Our Family – October 2013

Standard

Wow! This year has gone by so quickly! It’s crazy how fast time flies! I realized that next May, I will be 30!!! Aaahhh! I can’t believe it. I need to enjoy my 20’s while I can. Haha! I have such an awesome life and I’m loving this new phase in my life. Motherhood. It’s amazing.

Today, Lilah was so much fun! She’s almost 10 months old! I can’t believe it. She has such a fun personality. She is so happy and playful. She loves Matt and me and we absolutely adore and cherish her! She was so good in church today and she let me hug and love her today. She is usually so wiggly and on-the-go that she won’t just sit and cuddle but today, at church, she let me cuddle and hug her. It was such a gift to me. I love how she loves me. She has a really hard time when I leave her with anyone. At the gym daycare, she just cries so much that they always call me back in to come and get her. She even cries for our family when they watch her. She just has bad separation anxiety right now, which is normal. I feel bad for those who watch her but I just love how she clings to me. It makes me happy that she loves and trusts Matt and me so much.

Last night, on my way home from work, I called Matt and heard that Lilah was crying really hard as she was being put in her car seat so Matt put me on speaker and when I started talking to her, she just calmed right down and started babbling into the phone. It made me feel so good. Matt is so good with her. He took her to City Creek and had a fun Daddy/Daughter date. I’ve started working nights and weekends so that Matt can watch her and so that we won’t need daycare.

Lilah just adores her Daddy! In the morning, she’ll crawl around the house looking for him yelling, “Da?” It’s so cute! She’s got “MaMa” and “DaDa” down pretty well now! When she’s happy and playful, she’ll say, “Da Da Da Da Da Da”. When she’s upset and crying she’ll yell, “MA MA MA MA MA”. I’m not sure how I feel about that. It’s funny though. She also knows how to say dog! Every time she sees a dog or hears one bark she says, “Dah”. It’s so cute. Today, she was reading her little book and when she saw the picture of a dog, she said, “Dah”. I was amazed! 🙂 I’ve been trying to teach her sign language, and I think that she understands some of the words that I sign to her, especially Outside, Food, Drink, and Bath. But she never really signs back.

She loves to play peek-a-boo, patty cake, this little piggy and the itsy-bitsy spider. She loves to crawl around everywhere and explore her little world. She never holds still, especially when you are trying to change her diaper! She will roll and spin and wrestle to get out of having her diaper changed. It can be dangerous. Haha. She recently has started rolling and turning over when we are trying to get her into her carseat. It’s a struggle. She has never liked riding in the car. She loves to make messes and she is so good at it, too. 😉 Haha! It’s so hard to keep the house clean, but I like to let her explore. She loves to read books, go outside and swing in the tree swing in our backyard. She loves to go on walks and she even walking along the furniture herself. She reminds me of a little puppy because she will follow me everywhere and just crawl around panting with her tongue out. The other day, she was even crawling around with a little shoe in her mouth. Haha! She cracks me up. I wish I had a picture of that. She has brought so much joy into my life.

I love her laugh and her cheesy grin when she smiles so big that it’s almost as if she can’t contain her joy because she points out her chin, squints her eyes and she just has to wiggle her arms and kick her legs because she is so happy. I love when she is so tired that I get her to cuddle me and when I can just hold her and rock her while she sleeps.

Lilah loves her grandparents! The past few weeks, Matt’s mom and dad have been watching her on Tuesday nights when I was working so that Matt could go and do his calling for church. He is the Assistant Ward Mission Leader. I would pick up Lilah on my way home from work and she would always just be SO happy. One time she even got mad at me because she didn’t want to go home. Haha! Today, my mom was holding her and Lilah kept reaching for me and then changing her mind and clinging to my mom and she did that a few times. And of course there is Grandma Great! She just loves Great Grandma Thorup. 🙂 She has watched Lilah almost every Tuesday since I went back to work in March. Bless Grandma for that! Seriously, I don’t know how to express my gratitude for her service to me. I didn’t want Lilah to have to go to daycare. I’m so grateful for my Grandma loving her and caring for her each Tuesday. I’m sure Lilah will miss that.

The past five weeks I have been doing a fitness boot camp. I really have loved it. It’s helped me so much and I’ve seen big changes in my fitness ability! I went from wanting to die when I ran at 5 mph to being able to run at 6.5 mph at a 5% incline during the hour of circuit training without wanting to fall over and die. I have lost 10 lbs. and I think that I have gained a lot of muscle and lost some fat. I’m excited about it. It’s been hard to get up so early before Matt and Lilah wake up, but I feel that it’s so important. I have a lot of weight to lose. I needed to lose about 50 lbs! But now I have 40 lbs to go! Oh, man. That sounds daunting, but I really think that I can do it and I really need to. I want to start my family life off right. I want to be a healthy and active Mom! I’m also doing online weight watchers. It’s been great. My goal is to get down to my goal weight by my 30th birthday. I hope that I can do it.

Matt got an interview for PA school for Touro Las Vegas! I’m so excited for him. I hope that he gets in there. He is such an excellent candidate for PA school. It’s really hard going through the process of getting in because we have worked so hard for this goal. It is so important to Matt and me. I just pray all of the time that he can get in this year. He got on the waiting list for an interview at the U of U again. Last year, everyone showed up for their interview so he wasn’t able to interview. It was disheartening when we learned that he got on the waiting list for an interview again. We really wanted to be able to stay here in SLC. But Las Vegas would be amazing too! And it’s close enough to our family so that we won’t be completely cut off from them for two or more years. I really hope that he gets in there. We’ll see. His interview is in January. He still hasn’t heard from a lot of the other schools, so hopefully we will get more interviews. I’m very proud of Matt. He is such a hard worker and he is so dedicated to our family. I’m grateful to be married to such an amazing man who is so responsible and loving and fun to be around. Lilah is so in love with him! He is the best Dad and Husband ever! We are so lucky.

Here are some pictures from the last couple of months . . .

20131014-015436.jpg

20131014-015522.jpg

20131014-015532.jpg

20131014-015550.jpg

20131014-015612.jpg

20131014-015722.jpg

20131014-015735.jpg

20131014-015922.jpg

20131014-020053.jpg

20131014-020317.jpg

20131014-033605.jpg

20131014-033626.jpg

20131014-033647.jpg

20131014-033730.jpg

20131014-033806.jpg

20131014-033816.jpg

20131014-033918.jpg

20131014-033934.jpg

20131014-034111.jpg

20131014-034122.jpg

One response »

Leave a Reply

