A Day in the Life of Me

Standard

Things are going great. I love being a mom. I love my family, my job, my apartment and we are all healthy, thank heaven. I have so much to be grateful for. The day to day is a lot of the same. I wake up, feed Lilah, let her play, make her breakfast, clean up the house, then let her play until she goes down for a nap around 10 AM. She’ll usually sleep for about an hour then she’ll wake up and take a bottle. She’ll play for a while and then we’ll eat lunch together. She’ll sometimes take another nap after lunch, wake up and eat a bottle around 2 or 3 PM. Play, take her afternoon nap, wake up and eat dinner, play, get ready for bed around 6:30 PM, take a bath, eat another bottle and then go to bed around 7 or 7:30 PM. I guess that’s Lilah’s schedule and not really mine, but it’s really just one and the same. She is my life. Whenever people ask me what I’ve been up to lately, I just talk about Lilah. Haha. I love it though.

It was really hard going to work at first and it still is, but now, it’s really been nice to have a break from being at home although I’m still taking care of babies while at work. I’m so grateful that we don’t have to put Lilah in daycare. Grandma Thorup has been so sweet to watch her on the Tuesdays that I work, and Matt’s new job has been awesome so that I can work some night shifts during the week and sleep while he’s home in the morning. Matt watches her on the weekends. It’s so good for them to bond. I’m grateful for such a supportive husband. He’s such a great dad and he’s the sweetest husband. He always tells me how beautiful and amazing I am, even when I don’t feel like it. He is so kind to me.

Lilah has been crawling around like crazy! She gets into everything. It’s so cute to see her explore her little world. She will follow me around the house while I’m cleaning and she’ll come and just sit by my feet while I do the dishes. It’s so sweet. She pulls herself up to stand and has started taking baths in the tub instead of the sink. She says “Ma Ma” all of the time. It melts my heart especially when she’s crying for me in the crib and says it. She gets really shy around strangers and hides her face in my shoulder. She is a great eater. Her favorite foods are avocados, especially cafe rio guacamole, black beans, all vegetables, pumpkin, chicken and she loved hummus (but then I saw that it had tahini in it and that she isn’t supposed to have it til she’s 1 because of the sesame seeds). She really doesn’t like fruit. She’ll sometimes tolerate apples, peaches and bananas but she makes an awful face every time I give her any type of fruit, except watermelon. She loves that. She loves her little puffs and is started to eat more of those. She is even starting to be able to pick them up and self feed. She loves her sippy cup and holds it herself. Water is her favorite.

We have been trying to teach her some sign language and she finally started signing drink this week, whether she knows it or not. I think that she knows what a lot of the signs means, but she doesn’t know how to sign them back. We are teaching her Mom, Dad, drink, food, all done, outside, bath, book, car, more, play, walk, diaper, etc.

Matt applied for 17 PA schools this last week. I pray that he gets in. I think that he is an amazing candidate! We worked so hard on his essay. It’s really good. It would be amazing if he got into the U of U but it will also be so much fun (and kind-of scary) to move somewhere else.

Matt and I had our 5 year anniversary this last week! I can’t believe that it’s been 5 years already! It’s gone by so fast. I love Matt so much! We’ve really accomplished and been through a lot together these past years. I’m so glad that I married Matt. He lifts me up with everything that he says and treats me with so much respect and kindness. For our anniversary, he gave me these high top shoes that I really wanted and then Matt’s brother, Chris, watched Lilah while we went to dinner at Ruby River. We then went and walked around Liberty park. He gave me this beautiful ring with my birthstone and four little diamonds. He said that it symbolized these past 5 years and the next 5 years that we will have together. He said that he would spend the next 5 years making himself a better man so that we would be even more in love the next 5 years. I want to make the same commitment. I want to be a better wife to Matt. He never criticizes me for my shortcomings but I really want to just be my best self for him and for our kids. He encourages me to do things that I love and to develop my talents. I couldn’t be more blessed to have Matt in my life. He’s my best friend. Things aren’t always perfect in our lives but we are happy and grateful for this amazing life that we will have together. I can’t wait to see what the next 5 years brings. I’m so grateful that we were married in the temple so that I can have him and Lilah forever.

Leave a Reply

