I Love Being A Mom! And I Hate Being Sick!

Standard

Well, our little Lilah is 2 and 1/2 months old now! She’s getting so big! It’s amazing how fast the time goes. I’m so grateful for Lilah. She and Matt are my best friends. I love them both so much. I love being a mother!!! I’m so proud of my little girl. She brings so much joy into our lives with her little smiles and cuddles. I never anticipated the deep love and concern that I’d have for Lilah. My mother bear instincts have really kicked in. I just want to protect her from everything and my worst nightmare is for something bad to happen to her. I love her so much. I need to have more faith that everything is going to be alright. I’ve just seen so many tragedies happen to families at work and I fear that something might happen to our family. I know that is dumb but sometimes I worry about that. I need to have more faith and even if something bad did happen to our family, we’d be alright because we have the perspective of the gospel, that families can be together forever.

The day to day life of being a mom is an adjustment but I really enjoy it! It’s my dream to be a stay at home mom someday. Maternity leave has been so much fun. I’ve been taking care of Lilah and all of the housework, including making meals. It’s been a big change from the working woman and student that I was before Lilah was born. I love this new role that I am fulfilling and I feel that it is truly the most important work that I can do in this life. I’m really dreading having to go back to work and leave Lilah, even though she’ll be watched by Grandma Thorup (Thank Heaven for Grandma’s help!). I just don’t want to leave my baby but I am so grateful that Grandma Thorup is going to help us out. She is so generous and I completely trust her with Lilah.

This last week was a little challenging because my poor baby got sick. She had a cough and a cold and had trouble eating because of it. Poor little thing. She is on the tail end of it but I just hate to see her sick. We’ve tried so hard this winter to keep her from getting sick but she did. I’m glad that it wasn’t worse. Matt and I have been a little under the weather too so it will be so nice for everyone to get better. Lilah still managed a lot of smiles this week, even though she was feeling so sick. She is such a sweet baby.

Leave a Reply

