I’m Grateful For . . .

Standard

     This last Sunday was really great. The Relief Society lesson was taught by Sherise. She is my visiting teacher and I just love her. She is so amazing. She spoke about being thankful. It was an awesome lesson and I really felt the spirit. I thought that it was interesting that when Jesus did the miracle of the loaves and the fishes, he first gave thanks for them and then they were miraculously multiplied. “And he took the seven loaves and the fishes, and gave thanks, and brake them, and gave to his disciples, and the disciples to the multitude.”  (Matthew 15:36).

     I really love the scripture that says, “Verily, verily, I say unto you, ye are little children, and ye have not as yet understood how great blessings the Father hath in his own hands and prepared for you; And ye cannot bear all things now; nevertheless, be of good cheer, for I will lead you along. The kingdom is yours and the blessings thereof are yours, and the riches of eternity are yours. And he who receiveth all things with thankfulness shall be made glorious; and the things of this earth shall be added unto him, even an hundred fold, yea, more.” (Doctrine and Covenants 78:17-19) I think that when we are grateful, Heavenly Father will bless us much more than when we aren’t grateful. It reminds me of when I was a little girl. I was the youngest of four kids. Everyone always says that they youngest is the spoiled one. My mom told me that she didn’t mind spoiling me as long as I didn’t act like it and as long as I was grateful. 🙂

     I have so much to be grateful for. I am so grateful for my family, especially my husband, Matt. Matt is so loving and kind. He is my best friend in the whole world and he loves me so much despite my imperfections. He always is lifting me up and encouraging me to be my best and achieve my goals. He is so supportive of what I am doing in school and work. It means a lot to me. I’m so grateful that we have a healthy baby on the way. Working in the NICU while being pregnant is difficult. 100% of the babies that I see are very sick. I worry about our girl but I’m really grateful that she and I have been so healthy so far. It’s a miracle to me.

     I am so grateful for my job. Working in the NICU is amazing. I love working with the little babies. They are so sweet and pure. They really are the perfect patients. 🙂 I am grateful that I have a stable job in this difficult economy. Matt quit his job in August to finish all of his stuff for his applications for physician assistant school. It has been great but now that he’s trying to find another job, it’s been really hard. We really feel that Heavenly Father will provide. It’s sometimes hard to pay our tithing but we always do and we have NEVER gone without, even when the numbers don’t add up. I’m so grateful to live in America and even though we don’t have tons of money, we really are so rich. We have everything that we need and we feel so grateful for that. Matt and I have both lived in South America and we have seen what real poverty looks like. We have so much here. I’m so grateful for our water, food, clothes and our home. We are so rich because we have our family and our faith. Those are the things that last forever and I’m grateful for that.

     I am grateful that I am graduating with my bachelors degree! I feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to seek higher education. While I have my gripes about it, I really feel that it’s so important and that my education has greatly enriched my life and provided me with amazing opportunities. I’m so glad that I’ll be done just 3 weeks before my baby is due. I did it for her. It only took me 8 years to get my bachelors. HaHa! I worked all of the way through it and it took a LOT of sacrifice but it’s worth it.

     I’m grateful for miracles. I believe in God and I know that He knows me and that He loves me. I see His hand in my life often, whether it’s when a friend is prompted to say something to me or when He does miracles for my family that are too sacred to share. I have seen His power and I know that He is real. My life is so rich because of His love and His mercy. I’m grateful to know Him and I’m grateful that He is a part of my life.

One response »

Leave a Reply

