Matt’s Interview in P.A. and My Dream Job

Standard

I know that I always say how much I love my job, but it’s just the truth. I am so grateful that I am able to have my dream job. Looking back, I can see God’s hand in my life and how he guided me here. He knew, better than I did, what I needed and He opened the windows of heaven and has blessed me so much through my job.

Today, Matt is interviewing for PA school at Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania! I’m so excited for him. When I started my career, I knew that we may need to move away so that Matt can go to P.A. school. I just didn’t realize how difficult our economy would be at this time, especially for nurses. I spoke with a new nurse on my unit the other day. She told me that for the 5 NICU nurses that were just hired, 300 people applied for those positions! That’s crazy. When I was taking my pre-requisites for nursing school, there was a huge nursing shortage and units would give big sign on bonuses if you would come and work for them. When I was hired, there were 8 nursing positions and 88 applicants. I though that was bad.

If Matt gets in to P.A. school at Drexel, and I really think that he will, the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) is only 2 miles away from that school! CHOP is the BEST NICU IN THE NATION AND IN THE WORLD! The Pediatric hospital that I am currently working at is comparable to it and our NICU is also a level 4 NICU. I would be an excellent candidate for their NICU because of the highly specialized NICU training that I’ve received in my current job! I also will be finished with my bachelors degree (BSN) on December 5th. I really hope that if we have to move to Pennsylvania, I could have the opportunity to work in that NICU. It would be so hard to leave my family here and my dream job here in Utah, but it would be such a blessing if we were able to move to Philadelphia for P.A. school and if I could get a good job like the one at CHOP.

Last Sunday, almost everyone in our families had a special fast for Matthew as he goes to interview at Drexel. He also got a priesthood blessing from my Dad, Bruce, Keith and Seth. I really felt of Heavenly Father’s love for Matt and I know that God will help him.  We’ve been practicing for the interview all week and he will do great. It’s the first time that he’s been able to travel back East. I wish that I was able to go with him, but now that I am in my third trimester, I’m not supposed to fly. I’m so happy for him and excited for him!! He’s worked so hard for this. Since I met Matt four and a half years ago, this has been his goal. It’s nerve-racking but I believe in Matt and no matter what happens, we will be so happy as long as we have one another and we’ll be just fine.

One response »

Leave a Reply

