What I learned from being the Young Women’s President

Standard

     Today I was released from my church calling. I am so sad. I have loved being the Young Women’s President of my ward. It was such a great opportunity for me. I learned so much from my girls in the last year and a half. My counselor just had a baby and I am going to have a baby soon so our ward YW presidency was changed. The new leaders will be amazing. They are great. We only had 4 girls in our entire Ward, which is a very small amount for living in Utah. Right now, we only have 3 because one of them left for college. Even though we have such a small number of girls, they are most amazing young women.

     Before being called as the Young Women President, I had been going though the most difficult time in my life. I remember feeling like I needed help to get through that hard time. I remember feeling like Heavenly Father wanted to help me and I felt like he had a big calling coming for me to help me so that I could progress. Heavenly Father always seems to place the right people in my life at the right time. He also seems to give me the exact calling that I need to become a better person. He just knows exactly what I need and when I need it. This time, He knew that I needed help getting back on track and He knew that to help me come closer to Him, I needed a calling that would give me an opportunity to grow and serve.

     My calling in the Young Women did just that. I feel like I got more out of it than the girls did. My calling challenged me to be a good example and it helped me to rely more on God. It helped Matt and I to be better in our personal and family prayers scripture study. It helped us to become better at Family Home Evening and service. We still struggle to be perfect at those things but lately, we have really been better and had more of the Holy Ghost in our home. I’m so grateful for how God has blessed me for my imperfect service as the YW President.

     I struggle being a leader. I am not the best at delegating or organization. I have a hard time being dependable all of the time. I sometimes have a hard time putting forth the effort to get personal revelation. I want to be better and I hope that Heavenly Father will give me another chance someday to try again. Even though I’m such an imperfect person for the job, I feel like Heavenly Father saw my sacrifices and how hard I tried. I definitely felt so much love from Him and he has really blessed Matt and me for my service.

     I sometimes felt like being the YW President was a thankless job. From being the YW president, I learned the importance of expressing gratitude. I learned how much hard work goes into all of the activities and lessons. I learned how much the bishopric and other leaders and teachers do for me. I love how we have a lay clergy in my church. No one is paid at all for their countless hours of service. We do it because of love; love for God and love for the people that we serve. It is so important not to criticize leaders for their imperfect service. We should instead offer our help to them, support them and thank them for what they do. They do SO much!

     I am grateful to Heavenly Father for the opportunity that I had to be the YW President. I hope that he will someday trust me and give me the opportunity to serve in the Young Women’s organization again. I have absolutely LOVED it. It was the best calling. I really love the Young Women in my ward. They have all been through a really difficult year with their individual challenges. I wish that I would have done more for them. I hope that they know just how amazing and beautiful they are. They have blessed my life so much. I am glad that I was able to share my testimony with them. I hope that they stay strong. I hope that they will have the best lives and be so happy.

One response »

  1. What a great read. I’m glad you got the experience. Weren’t mom and dad’s talk’s neat today as dad got released? It’s exciting how much a calling can help you grow.

Leave a Reply

