Personal History: All About Me

Standard

Do you or did you have a nickname? What is it? How did you get it?

My family knows me as Boo Boo. It originated from Er-bear, from the care bears, one of my favorite cartoons when I was little. Then it evolved to Boo Bear because of Yogi and Boo Bear, another favorite childhood cartoon. Then finally, I became Boo Boo. My nieces and nephews know me as Aunt Boo Boo. I’m even occasionally called “Booby” by my sweet nieces and nephews who don’t know what that means. Ha! It’s funny, because my husband, Matt, was called Moo by his family growing up. Moo and Boo. It was meant to be. 

What is your favorite book?

The Book of Mormon, of course. 🙂 It’s the book that I read the most. My reading is pretty sporadic. I haven’t had tons of time for reading while I was in school but I love to find a good series to read. Some of my recent favorites are Harry Potter, the Twilight series and the Hunger Games.  

What is your favorite color?

My favorite color is green because it is the color of life in nature. 

What makes you laugh?

My husband, Matt. Everything that he says is so funny and he makes me laugh every single day. I just love to be with him. He cracks me up. It’s really fun being married to him. My nieces and nephew crack me up too.

What makes you really, really happy?

My family makes me really, really happy, especially my amazing husband, Matthew. I love to spend time with them. I love being pregnant. It’s an amazing experience and such a miracle. I love God and going to church. I love my work at the Newborn Intensive Care Unit. It is so amazing working with such precious babies. I am also going to be really, really happy when Matt and I finally graduate from College because I can’t wait for the day when I don’t have to pay any more tuition. 🙂

Why were you given your name?
 
I’ve asked my mom and she says that she just liked my name. 

How tall are you now?

5′ 7 1/2″

Did your Mom tell you what you looked like when you were born?

No. But here is a picture. 🙂

Describe something you thought was very beautiful.

Right now, I’m 20 weeks pregnant with our first baby girl. I just can’t believe how amazing it is that our baby has grown so much in the past few months. Recently, I have started to feel our baby kick. It’s such a miracle to me. It was so beautiful to see her wiggling and turning on the ultrasound. I love to feel her sweet spirit inside of me. This experience is so beautiful and it is a testimony to me that there really is a God.

What is your favorite season of the year? Why?

I really love all of the seasons. I love winter because of the snow and snowboarding. I love to cuddle up by the fire and read a book with hot cocoa or cuddle up by Matt. We go snowshoeing every year. I love Summer because everything is so green and pretty. I love to go camping and hiking. Matt and I always go on a road trip in between semesters at school in May and August. I love hiking in the Fall when all of the leaves are changing colors.

Share your favorite vacation. Why is it your favorite? Where did you go? What did you do? Who went with you?

My all time favorite vacation was probably the road trip that Matt and I took the Spring after we were married. We went to Northern California. We drove through Lake Tahoe and camped there for the night and then went to the Redwood Forest for 10 days. I had never been there before and for me it just felt like this magical place. Everything was so green and alive. It was so beautiful with the gigantic trees, ferns, animals and fog. We camped on the beach, just 50 feet from the ocean. I loved it! We had so much fun together and we went on lots and lots of hikes. There were almost no people in the park because it was early in the season. We cooked dutch oven dinners every night. It was a blast. I treasure that memory.

Where is your favorite place to visit?

I love to go to the national parks in Southern Utah. Since I was a little girl, we have always gone camping once or twice a year in Moab or Zions National Park. My husband and I still continue on with that tradition almost every year. I have such happy memories there with my family and I hope that Matt and I can make lots of memories in the future with our own little family.

What is your favorite movie?

Matt laughs at me so much because I totally love movies like Avatar, Tron, Iron Man, The Avengers, Spiderman, etc. He jokes that all he wants to do is have a nice night and watch a romantic comedy. He’s just kidding because he likes the same movies that I do. 🙂 I also really love the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. I loved the movie marathons that I’d have with my mom watching all 5 hours in a day. 🙂

Do you like sports? If so, who is your favorite team and why?

I don’t like to watch sports but I love to play sports. My favorite sports are snowboarding and hiking (if that counts). Growing up I played soccer, basketball, and softball on recreational teams. I played volleyball for one year on the highschool team.

What is your best quality?

I think that my best quality is that I’m kind. I try to be nice to everyone. Also, I never lie. I’m very honest.

Do you have memory of a time when you had to stand up for something you believed in, when everyone else seemed to be against you?

When I was a missionary in Pennsylvania and Argentina, that’s what I had to do every day. I loved being a missionary. I always have really respected other’s beliefs but sometimes people didn’t respect mine. I really loved being a missionary and being able to share the truths that I treasure with everyone. It was an awesome experience. 

Have you ever saved anyone’s life? If so, what were the circumstances?

I have the opportunity to save a life almost every day at work in the Newborn Intensive Care Unit. I love it.  Also, when I was a counselor at the Utah Boys Ranch, I saved the life of one of my friends who was repelling down a 200 foot waterfall. The boulder slipped that her rope was anchored to and my Boss, Randy, and I had to hold the rope until she reached the bottom safely. It was pretty intense.

How do you choose to spend your time on the weekends?

What is a weekend? As a nurse, my schedule is different every single week and I have to work weekends, nights and holidays so I don’t have a weekend. On my days off I love to spend time with my husband, clean our house, go to the gym or on walks and catch up on my favorite TV shows. On Sundays, I love to go to church and have family dinner with my parents, grandparents, siblings and nieces and nephews. My mom is awesome and makes Sunday dinner every single week for everybody. It’s so much fun to spend time with them.

How did you decide on your career path or the life path you have chosen?

Since I was a little girl, I always loved to be the one to fix someone up if they got hurt. When I was 4 or 5 years old, I slipped on some milk when Seth was chasing me around the house and cut my leg badly on some broken glass. When we went to go and get stitches, I didn’t cry at all and I just was so fascinated watching the doctor sew up my leg. In young women, when I was a teenager, I loved the first aid camp certification so much. 

I have always had an affinity toward medicine. During high school, I got my Emergency Medical Technician certification and went to UVSC for the fire fighting program. I passed all of the tests and got in to the program but I decided that it wasn’t for me because of the way that all of the men talked. I didn’t like their language or their humor. I wanted to be a firefighter because of the medical part anyway, so I decided to become a nurse.

After my mission, I worked as a CNA and an LPN at Cottonwood Hospital and Intermountain Medical Center on the Surgical/Trauma floor during nursing school at Salt Lake Community College. I got my RN and after a few months, I transferred to the NICU where I currently am working. I never thought that I’d want to work in pediatrics or with babies, but after applying for the job and getting it, I prayed to God asking if I should take the job and if it was right for me. I felt such a strong answer in my heart that I was supposed to work  in the NICU that I took the job. Now that I have worked here for more than three years, I know why God guided me here. It is where I’m supposed to be and I’d love to work here for the rest of my career. It is a beautiful place to work and I see miracles so often. I LOVE the NICU. The babies are the best patients. 🙂

How much were you paid for your first job?

When I was young I would babysit and mow lawns. I think I got $5-10/lawn and $2-$4/hour babysitting. When I was 15 years old, I got my first real job at a Itatlian Villiage. I was a busser and was paid $5/hour plus tips from the waitresses.

Did you have someone who you admired and had a big influence on you?

My siblings have had a huge impact on my life. They have really shaped me into who I am today. I was always so much younger than they were so I always really looked up to them and I still do. They are my best friends.

April is 9 years older than I am but we were always really, really close. She was always so much fun and she would take me hiking and on shopping sprees at All-A-Dollar. 🙂 When she got married, we would have sleep overs all of the time. April taught me to be kind through her example. She was so funny because she’d apologize for being grumpy, and we had no idea that she was grumpy. We teased her that she was having grumpy thoughts. 🙂 She was always service minded. She’d have me help her with her secret service things that she’d do for our siblings or for other people. She taught me so much about having fun and how to treat people. I wanted to be just like her. I love the example that she set for me.

Angie is 8 years older than I am and I really looked up to her too. She had such a big influence on my beliefs about God and Jesus Christ. She was always so strong in her testimony of the gospel. She was always giving me advice that helped me. I remember that she would choose New Era articles for me to read. When I’d walk past her room, she’d be reading the scriptures and she’d invite me to come and sit on her bed and read with her. She was always teaching me what was right and helping me to improve. I really respected her opinion. When she went on her mission to England, she’d write me letters and talk to me about how I should look for people at school who may be lonely and need a friend. She was always such a great example to me and I love her so much.

Seth is 6 years older than I am and I was the little “brother” that he never had or at least he tried to treat me like a little brother. We shared a room when we were little and he’d teach me how to play football. When he was the cool homecoming king in high school, I was a really nerdy and lonely little 12 year old. He would take me on “dates” and make me feel so special. Before his mission, he’d sing me songs that he’d write on the guitar and he’d practice teaching me the missionary discussions. He really helped me to obtain a testimony when he taught me the missionary discussions. I missed him so much when he went on his mission to the Phillipeans. Now I am 28 and he is 34 years old and we are in the same ward. It’s so much fun. He’s in the bishopric and I’m the Young Women’s president so we get to work together a lot. Matt and I love being in Seth and Christina’s ward and neighborhood. It’s the best. I love my big brother. 🙂  

What lessons have you learned in your career?

I think that the biggest thing that I’ve taken away from working as a nurse is the realization of just how precious life is. Working on the Trauma floor, I saw how quickly and unexpectedly life can change. Matt also worked in the Emergency Department and he saw the same thing. It doesn’t matter your age or life circumstances. You need to always be prepared to meet your Maker and you need to live life without regrets. Always tell your family how much you love them every single day!! Don’t hold grudges. I just have learned to treasure every single day that I have with Matt.

As an adult, what special activities have you especially enjoyed?

I love to hike and camp with Matt. I love the mountains so much. I like to decorate special cakes for my family members on their birthday. I like to sleep. I like to play the piano and write piano music and lyrics. I love Sunday dinners at my Mom’s house. I love to go on dates and hang out with Matt.

Is there something in your life that you have always wanted to do, but haven’t done so, yet?

I have a very long dream list. That will have to be another post but one of my biggest dreams is to hold my own baby and rock her to sleep. That might be crossed off of the list soon though. 🙂 I want to go on lots of medical missions with my husband!

Of all your good friends, which have you known the longest?

Honestly, I don’t have a lot of very close friends. I have lots of great friends that I work with or go to church with but we don’t really hang out outside of those settings.  My husband and my family members are definately my best friends!

Leave a Reply

