Bogotá, Colombia

Standard

     We arrived in Bogotá late because we were waiting for our airplane to come into Florencia. We finally were able to get a flight by Monday morning and were able to spend the day in Bogotá. It was so much fun. We were able to go to Monsarrate!! I had wanted to go there on my previous trip to Bogotá but the weather didn’t cooperate. Well, it was perfect weather on Monday and we were able to go.

     Monsarrate is a catholic cathedral that is located at the top of a mountain off of Bogotá. It’s beautiful. It was built in the early 1900’s. It was a place where people went to be healed. They would climb to the top of the mountain on their knees and then they were healed. There used to be lots of crutches and stuff up there, but now, it’s a nice cathedral with a restaurant and a gift shop. You get to the top by taking a cable car. It’s 10,000 feet above sea level at the top. I got light-headed and had to sit down. It was really so beautiful. My favorite part though, was when we were getting ready to take the cable car back down, I started talking with all of these sweet catholic nuns from Venezuela. They were beautiful! They loved talking to me and they let me take a picture with them. When I was saying goodbye to them, they were so sweet and each one blessed me and blessed my baby. I was touched by their kindness.

     We then went and spent the night at the dorms at the Bogotá Temple! It was so fun to be by the temple. We didn’t get to go inside because it was a Monday, but it was really nice just being near it.

     We caught a flight out on Tuesday morning and I finally got back to my sweet hubby that night by 9 PM. He is so awesome. He was so excited to see me. He was waiting at the baggage claim for me and it was so good to be reunited with him again. It was very hard being away from Matt. I love him so much. Being away from him helped me to realize just how much I need him and how much I love him.

This is the tram up to Monsarrate. 🙂

 

The beautiful view at the top of Monsarrate.

 

Sister Wong and I with Bogota in the background

 

These are some sweet nuns that I started talking to at Monsarrate. I love them. After telling them what we were doing and getting to know them, they blessed me and they blessed by little baby.

 

The Bogota, Colombia Temple. We stayed at the dorms and I had a view of the temple from my bedroom. So beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

