“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart” – Learning to Trust God

Standard

     I love the scripture that says, “We have been driven out of the land of our inheritance; but we have been lead to a better land.” (2Nephi 10:20)  When I was in the MTC, my VISA was delayed at the last moment. I learned that I’d have to wait to go to Argentina. I was really disappointed. Delay after delay happened. First, they put that I was male on my VISA. Then, the machine to fix the VISA’s broke. After that, the Consul’s wife had a baby and he was on leave. Then the immigration office went on strike, etc. . .

     I was so excited to go to Argentina, so it was really frustrating to me. One day at lunch, I was talking to one of my friends about it and he said, “It’s a miracle!!” He said that the Lord has a better plan for me than what I had planned for myself. That was a really good lesson that I learned from that friend. He was right. It turned out that time in my mission was amazing. I loved it and I would have missed out on all of those amazing experiences if my VISA wasn’t delayed. I had an extra month in the MTC and was able to learn from seven different apostles and other amazing people. I learned so much and made some lifelong friends. I was then transferred to the Harrisburg, Pennsylvania mission for a couple of months. Some of my most treasured mission experiences happened there. I also learned so much from my mission companions in York. It really was a miracle that my VISA was delayed and that things didn’t go as planned.

     A funny thing was that there were still more delays after Pennsylvania. My flight was delayed a day and then they lost my luggage in Argentina. HaHa! It was so funny.

     I learned that Heavenly Father is aware of us and that He knows what is best for us. It’s true that all things that happen are for our good and as we meet the challenges and delays of this life, we can do so with faith and hope that we are being “led to a better land”.

“Trust in the lord with all thine heart and lean not to thine own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy paths.” –Proverbs 3:5-6

 

“Behold, all things have been done in the wisdom of Him who knoweth all things.” –2 Nephi 2:24

Leave a Reply

