Mandatory Education in the NICU

Standard

     Hooray!!! Today, I finished my paperwork for Intermediate III. In the NICU, we have tons of things that we have to do for training. I’ve worked in the NICU for almost 3 years and I’m still not done with the training yet. I love how my unit focuses so much on education. We had a 6 month orientation with intense classes and endless book work and certifications. It was really a great orientation.  During that time we also did a hospital orientation that lasted for four months that focused on general pediatrics.

     After orientation, we had to finish Intermediate I before our year mark, Intermediate II before our two-year mark and Intermediate III before our three-year mark. Each of the intermediate modules consist of a really thick book (2 inches thick) to study from, a class, many study guides to fill out, preceptor shifts with an advanced RN to practice taking care of more critical patients, and a test that you have to pass to keep your job. I’ve learned SO much. It’s been a big blessing working here. I don’t think that I’ll ever want to work anywhere else.

     I am so excited to almost be done with intermediate III. I still have to finish up my Intermediate III preceptor shifts and take my post test but I’m almost there! I’ve learned an incredible amount working here in the NICU and I am very grateful. It’s been so busy the last three years. I’ve been finishing my bachelor’s degree (part-time or full-time), working full-time and finishing my mandatory education. When I finish Intermediate III, I’ll be able to take care of our most critical patients here at work. I’m excited about that. I love my job. It’s very challenging and I have grown so much. I also graduate with my bachelors degree this December. I am so excited for that. After I’m done with my bachelors and my mandatory education here at work, I may not know what to do with myself. 🙂

One response »

  1. Congratulations Erin! That sounds like so much work! I’m glad you enjoy your job. I’m sure you’re good at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

