Why I Go to the Temple and Cafe Rio with Cupcakes

Standard

     I had a really fun day today. Matt and I got to spend almost the whole day together. It’s nice to have a day off. This morning we played basketball in the driveway and then kicked the soccer ball around. I love spending time with Matt.

     We went to the Jordan River Temple in the afternoon. (Click here to learn about why we Mormons build temples) I really love going to the temple. I don’t go as often as I should but every time that I do, I just feel so much peace and clarity.  It’s a place where I go to get answers to my life problems. The temple is a really important place for me.  It’s a place where I have made promises with God to live my life as a disciple of Jesus Christ. The first time that I went to the temple it was a very new experience. I prayed  to Heavenly Father to know if the temple was really where He wanted me to be and if the things that we do in the temple are really part of God’s revealed truth. I remember the feeling that immediately flooded my heart and soul after saying that prayer. It was an answer from my Heavenly Father to me that this is where I was supposed to be and that the temple is a holy and sacred place. I know through the Holy Ghost that the temple is an important part of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. 

The Jordan River Temple

     Today, I said that same prayer in the temple and I felt that same feeling again. I know that feeling is the Holy Ghost and that the Holy Ghost always testifies of what is true. I don’t believe most of what people say. I have found that the only way to really know if something is true, you have to ask God because He is the source of all truth.  I believe that God does answer our prayers and lead us to what is true through prayer and the promptings of the Holy Ghost. I love to go to the temple to get answers to my questions through prayer to my Father in Heaven. I got married to Matt in the Salt Lake Temple. I know that I can be with Matt forever even after we die. I love him so much and I’m so grateful to be married to such an amazing man. I can’t imagine my life without him.

This is a picture of the the Salt Lake Temple where Matt and I got married in 2008.

     After the temple, we went to Cafe Rio. I can’t even estimate how many Pork Salads that I’ve had in my lifetime. I’m not sure that I want to know. I always laugh at Matt though because every time we go to Cafe Rio, he grabs a huge handful of their free mints and puts them in their pocket. He is so funny. We then went to One Sweet Slice. They have the best cupcakes ever! Their cakes are amazing too. I really want to learn how to decorate and bake cakes how they do. So cute and yummy!! Maybe someday I’ll get good enough to sell my cakes too. That would be so cool. We’ll see.

     Now, I am working the night shift after a long, fun day with Matt. Yep. That is my rock and roll lifestyle. Play all day and then work all night. No time for sleep for me.

Leave a Reply

