Humanitarian Trip Update – Colombia! Here I come . . . Again!

Standard

     I was originally asked to go to Venezuela to teach neonatal resuscitation with my church but now I have been reassigned to Colombia and I won’t be able to go to Venezuela. I wanted to go to Venezuela, but I am also so excited to have the opportunity to return to Colombia. It’s such a blessing to be able to go. I will be going to two cities, Florencia (gateway to the amazon region) and Monteria (near the Caribbean coast in Northern Colombia). We’ll be teaches two advanced American Academy of Pediatrics Neonatal resuscitation Program (NRP) courses to train the doctors and nurses so that they can perpetuate the NRP program in their own hospitals and clinics. Colombia has a high infant mortality rate and our mission is to help save the lives of Colombian babies. The church also donates a lot of supplies. I’ll be gone for eight days in June. If you want to see my post and pictures from my last trip to Colombia in October, click here.

Colombia’s Flag

Can you find Florencia and Monteria?

2 responses »

  1. This sounds so fun. I read about your Columbia trip and it looked like an amazing experience!! How did you get involved in this?

    • Hi Ty! I got involved just on my own. I heard that the church does these NRP trips so I just called the humanitarian center and talked to the right person. You have to be NRP provider and instructor certified. You have to have your BLS. You have to be working in a unit like ours with babies or labor and delivery. You need a passport and I think that’s about it. If you want to do it, I think that Jessica Rogers is setting up a NRP instructor class and I can give you the contact information for everyone that you need to talk to. 🙂 Let me know if you want more info. 🙂

Leave a Reply

