Lightbulb Moment: I Am Not the Center of the Universe

Standard

     One thing I learned in Argentina is that I am not the center of the universe. It was a big lesson for me. HaHa. I remember that I had this one experience that changed my point of view about life. I was walking through a neighborhood called Barrio Santa Rosa in Las Heras, Mendoza. I was just thinking about my struggles and challenges on my mission and I was just caught up in my thoughts until I looked up around me. I started to look at how beautiful everything was.

     I was looking at the bamboo and tin rooftops, the Andes mountains in the distance and the beautiful sunset. I started to look inward, outward and upward if that makes sense. I was just amazed at the huge universe, the zillions of stars and the sun. I was taken back by how I was on the other side of the world, in a different country speaking a different language. It’s crazy to think of all of the billions and billions of people who live, have lived, and will live here on Earth. All of those people are just like me with families, challenges, dreams, feelings and fears. It blows my mind to think about it. They all had their own personalities, weaknesses and strengths. God knows each one of them. While thinking about all of these things, I realized that there are things that are bigger than me and my little, tiny problems. I am not the center of the universe.  My life, for a moment, felt like it was put into perspective. It didn’t make me feel small or insignificant but it filled me with wonder and awe.

     This lightbulb moment brought me a new understanding of the plan that God has for me and what my purpose is in this life. Even though I am such a small part of all of the amazing things that God has created, I know that He is my Father in Heaven and that He knows me and loves me. I believe in God and I believe that our lives do have a purpose here on Earth. I know that. Some things you just know in your heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

