Scuba Diving with Matt and Dad

Standard

Today was a really fun day! Matt, Dad and I went scuba diving at Sea Base in Grantsville. It’s this little salt water pond that has lots of tropical fish and two nurse sharks. It was so fun to spend time with Matt and my Dad.

Scuba Diving is not the most glamorous sport. All of my makeup washed off and my hair was all in tangles. Oh, and don’t get me started on the wetsuit. It was a workout to get the thing on and it’s just not the most flattering thing to wear. LOL. I guess that’s just the price that you have to pay to have so much fun.

Matt was finishing his scuba certification so that we can go scuba diving on our upcoming trip to Cozumel and Cancun, Mexico. We are excited about that. Dad was SO nice and sweet to come with us today. My dad is a really experienced scuba diver and he helped me because it has been a few years since I have been diving. He was so kind to review everything with me. I had tons of fun diving with Dad while Matt was finishing his pass-offs. It was funny. The visibility at sea base is about 3 feet. It was so murky that Dad and I kept losing each other. We had to keep going to the top to find each other and we never knew where we were. It was really fun though. Diving at Sea Base for Dad is just not the best because he’s been to so many amazing places but I was just so happy to spend some time with my Pop. The last time we went there together, I was 13 or 14 years-old so it had been a while since we had been there. I don’t think that Dad will want to go back there again. He was very patient though.

     Matt did really well diving. His lesson took a little longer than we thought but eventually we were able to go on a dive together! Our first dive. It was so great. They threw tuna into the water for us and these HUGE fish that were 3 feet long or more with big teeth came and swarmed all around us so that we could watch them. We had to close our fists so that they wouldn’t bite our fingers on accident. They kept whacking Matt with their tails. Then Matt took me to go see the shark. He was trying to show me the shark and get me to touch it but my mask was all foggy and I couldn’t tell what it was, so when I touched it, I freaked out a little. LOL. Then we went to see the sunken boat. He navigated really well. I was really impressed. I held onto him and he just led me everywhere. He kept checking on me, holding my hand and making sure that I was okay. It was so sweet. It made me feel very loved. He is just my best friend in the whole world.

 

     It has always been a dream of Matt’s to be a scuba diver. It made me so happy to go with him today. I bought him the scuba lessons for Valentine’s Day. He was so excited. I just love helping Matt’s dreams to come true. Since I met Matt, I have learned what real love means. I feel so much deep and pure love for Him. All I want is to make him happy. I never have felt like that for anyone before I met Matt. He’s the best husband in the whole world. I love our life together.

     Oh, I need to tell the cool story about this. So Neptune Divers only offers the open water certification on Saturdays and Sundays. Matt and I didn’t know what to do because it’s really important for us to keep the Sabbath Day holy. It’s something that we believe and we taught it so much on our missions. We decided not to take the class on Sunday, even if we had to pay extra money. It was a good lesson for us because it ended up working out even better. We were able to go another Saturday and have a private instructor. We didn’t have to pay any extra money like we were told we would have to do. We were so grateful and it helped us know that God will bless us if we try to do what we know to be right.

One response »

Leave a Reply

