Angels

Standard

I wrote this journal entry on June 20, 2006 while serving as a missionary in Argentina.

     While reading in the scriptures, I’ve come to have a greater understanding of my calling as a missionary. Someone once told me that when reading the scriptures, try replacing the word “angel” with “missionary”. I’ve come to learn that missionaries truly are “angels sent from God to save [people] from an everlasting destruction” (Alma 27:4).

     The Lord communicates  with His children through the Holy Ghost and through angels. For example, the Book of Mormon says that the Lord makes his plan of salvation known through angels (Alma 24:14). “Angels speak by the power of the Holy Ghost and declare the words of Christ” (2 Nephi 32:3). Truly, when we share the gospel of Jesus Christ with others we can become angels to those with whom we share. We can be instruments in the Lord’s hands to bring about the eternal salvation of our brothers and sisters here on Earth.

     The Savior, Jesus Christ, has paid the price to redeem men. As missionaries, we are able to make His sacrifice, the atonement, available to others. In Helaman, in the Book of Mormon, it says, “Therefore he hath sent his angels to declare the tidings of the conditions of repentance, which bringeth unto the power of the Redeemer, unto the salvation of their souls” (Helaman 5:11). We can be the Lord’s angels. We can be those angels that God sends to save our friends and family members from a life without the gospel. I love being a missionary! “Grandpa” Smith who was our friend in Pennsylvania always called us his “angels in my life”.

     I also know that there are real angels surrounding me and my companions. I feel so much protection. My new area is really dangerous and we always have to walk home in the dark but I know that Heavenly Father is protecting us and that we are surrounded by His angels.

     When I lived in Ecuador. I remember strongly feeling that there were angels in those orphanages and that God would never abandon those orphaned/abandoned children. You could feel them there. You could also see it in the eyes of the children when they were alone. It was so beautiful. I believe that there is so much more than we can see.

I love this picture (above). I took it in a cemetery that we visited in Las Heras. It reminds me of being a missionary.

Leave a Reply

