Improving Our Time

Standard

     Time is an interesting concept. You can’t touch it, see it, smell it or hear it. But it’s there and it’s precious. God has given us this time on earth to learn, grow and experience the gift of mortal existence. This life is a time to be tested to see if we really want all that He has to offer us. What we do with the precious gift of time is what will affect the rest of our eternal existence.

     As a nurse, I have been very close to people as they face the most challenging times of their lives. I have been with people when they have passed away unexpectedly. It is a very humbling and sacred time that really has made me ponder about what life is all about. My husband worked in the Emergency Room and has seen many people who just left for work one day like normal and then ended up passing away that very same day from accidents. I think that we take life for granted. Most people don’t imagine themselves at the end of it, but for my husband and me, we have seen how very delicate life is and how our time here on this earth is to be treasured.

     In the Book of Mormon, Amulek taught, “This life is the time for men to prepare to meet God. Yea, behold the day of this life is the day for men to perform their labors . . . I beseech of you that ye do not procrastinate the day of your repentance until the end; for after the day of life, which is given us to prepare for eternity, behold, if we do not improve our time while in this life, then cometh the night of darkness wherein there can be no labor performed” (Alma 34:32-33).

     Life goes by so quickly. The time is passing by and we can’t stop it or go back. I love the song that says “‘Cause you can’t jump the track,we’re like cars on a cable and life’s like an hourglass, glued to the table. No one can find the rewind button girl” (Breathe, by Anna Nalick). The point is to improve our time and to make the most of it every day, not to idle or waste our time by doing things that don’t matter. But to USE it and to make the moments rich. Dream big and chase your dreams. My motto for life is to “live without regret”.  We need to progress, not just be like a gerbel on his spinning wheel not going anywhere.

     I really love being the Young Women’s President in my ward. I have learned so much from my girls. One thing that I love about the Young Women’s program is Personal Progress. It’s a program where the girls, their moms and their leaders work on different experiences and 10 hour projects to help them to become their best selves. It’s been so good for me to focus on things that I need to change in my life and to learn and apply new skills and principles of the gospel like faith, integrity, good works and virtue to name a few. We all need personal progress. That is why we are here on earth.

     Progress = fulfillment and happiness. I have found that the times in my life that I am progressing and learning are the happiest and best times of my life. We can all find that fulfillment when we serve others, study, learn, pray, spend time with our family, and create. Living in the moment is what it’s all about because like I’ve learned from working as a nurse, we never know when our time here will end. When I was younger I always wished that I was older and I couldn’t wait to get to that next stage of life. Even now, sometimes I wish that I had kids or that we were out of school but I need to not wish my time away, but enjoy the moment and make the most of it.

     I just hope that whenever I die, I will be able to look back at my life with no regrets and that I’ll be able to stand in front of my Savior and say that I tried to do the best that I could.

Leave a Reply

