Working in the NICU

Standard

I love working in the NICU. It has been amazing. I never thought that I’d want to work with babies or kids. Throughout nursing school, I had always planned to work in an adult ICU or in the Emergency Department. I got my EMT certification in high school and I had originally planned to become a firefighter. I even passed the CPAT (Candidate Physical Ability Test) and got accepted into the firefighting program at Utah Valley State College. I loved the adrenaline of emergency medicine but I decided that firefighting wasn’t for me because I didn’t feel comfortable around all of the swearing and the dirty jokes that I heard at the fire academy. Throughout nursing school, I worked as a CNA (Certified Nurse Assistant) and an LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) on the Surgical/Trauma Floor at Intermountain Medical Center. They hired me on as a Registered Nurse when I graduated but I applied to many different jobs to see what my options were. I got offered a job at a pediatric hospital in one of the nations most prestigious Newborn Intensive Care Units. I really didn’t know if NICU nursing was for me, but I got on my knees and prayed about it to know if it was really the job for me. I love prayer. I love that I can go to my Heavenly Father in sincere prayer and talk to Him and ask Him for guidance and help in my life. After my prayer, I felt a strong feeling in my heart. I knew that for some reason, I was supposed to work at this NICU.

It’s amazing to me that Heavenly Father can see the whole picture. I love that He knows what will make us happy and that He knows what is best for us. One of my favorite scriptures in the Book of Mormon (Another Testament of Jesus Christ) is Jacob 4:13. It talk about the Holy Ghost and how we can always trust what we learn through the Holy Ghost. It says, “For the Spirit speaketh the truth and lieth not. Wherefore, it speaketh of things as they really are, and of things as they really will be; wherefore, these things are manifested unto us plainly.” (The Book of Mormon )

Working in the NICU has been incredible. I absolutely love it! I have taken care of sweet little babies that were 350 grams when they were born! I have been there at the end of a sweet baby’s life when He returned to our Father in Heaven. I have cared for babies that come to know me and love me. I have established amazing relationships with parents as they have gone through some of the most difficult experiences of their lives. I have saved many babies delicate lives through my nursing care. I treasure my time with “my” babies and I have learned a lot about love and sacrifice and the miracle of medicine. I never want to work anywhere else. I’m so grateful that Heavenly Father guided me here. I feel that I have become a better person because of my job. I don’t know of many other jobs like that.

One response »

Leave a Reply

