Walk This Way

Standard

I wrote this on May 1, 2006 when I was a missionary in Argentina.

     I love my Dad so much!! I don’t know how to express the feelings of gratitude and love I feel for my sweet mom and him. There are so far away from me right now. I’m in Argentina, far from everything I know but the thing that I miss the most is my family.

     I think of all that they have taught me and who I today is a reflection of their love and examples. My dad always, since I was little, has said his joke “Walk this way” when he’d walk in front of us and he’d walk all funny and silly. I love it. When I was a teenager, I’d get all embarrassed but secretly, I thought that it was funny. I love those memories of my dad. I treasure memories that I have of my family.

     My dad has always loved me and wanted the best for me. He always  taught me what was right by his lectures, analogies and also by his example. His honesty (he always taught me to be honest and I always was. I never lied to my dad), his church service, his generosity and love towards me and other needy people in our ward and stake. He always taught me to keep the commandments and to pray. He truly said “walk this way” in all that he did. Of course, he’s not perfect but he also taught me about repentance. “Walk this way” is the same message that my amazing mom, brother and sisters taught me. I learn best by watching and observing. I’m so grateful for the examples of my family.

     As teachers, missionaries, parents and friends, we all have an influence on those around us. We are saying “walk this way”. We have a sacred responsibility as parents and teachers to teach children and others to “walk in the ways of the Lord”. Not only to teach by words, but example like the Savior did for us. When He washed the disciples feet he said, “For I have given you an example that ye should do as I have done unto you.” (John 13:15). He also said in the Book of Mormon, “This is my gospel . . . for the works ye have seen me do, that shall ye also do” (3 Nephi 27:21, 27).  The Savior taught by example and so must we.  Like Paul said, “Be ye thou an example of the believers”. Walk this way.

     Christ is the way, the only way. I am so grateful for the examples of my family who taught me to walk “in the paths of righteousness, the path which leads to the kingdom of God.” (Alma 7:19) I’m so grateful for my dad’s joke of “Walk this way” and that he really did teach me to walk in the way that leads to real happiness.

My Dad

 

Leave a Reply

