Thoughts on Nursing

Standard

I wrote this in my philosophy journal on May 10, 2006 when I lived in Argentina as a missionary.

     The other night I had a dream. Sometimes, Heavenly Father teaches me through dreams. There was a big bicycle race and as many of them turned a corner, many of them fall and were hurt very badly. I want to be a nurse someday and after the mission, I start nursing school. I’m so excited to be a nurse someday because I love to take care of people. In my dream, I remember this. I’m also an EMT, so I have the knowledge to help them. I went to help the doctors. I was helping to save these people so that they wouldn’t die. I was helping them so that they would heal. There were so many who were dying, but I had the knowledge and ability to help them and to save them. 

    Being a nurse is just like being a missionary. So many people in the world are dying spiritually. We are all sick and need the healing atonement of the Savior, Jesus Christ. Only He can heal us and save us from an “awful death and hell”. I as a member of the church and as a missionary of God, have the knowledge and ability to help them and to save them. I can help people to heal so that they won’t die that second death. 

    At one point in my dream, I was just chatting with one of the doctors when there were so many around me who were hurt and needing help. It made me think of the importance of my calling and to remember that I should not take this lightly. I shouldn’t waste time. Their souls are so precious! People need me. We can be saviors on Mount Zion. I have the knowledge and ability to help and to save them. I must labor with all of my might so that I can be found spotless at the last day. Like it says in Jacob 1:19, “I must magnify my office and take upon me the responsibility. Answering for their sins if I don’t teach them will all diligence.” I’m overwhelmed with the responsibility that is mine. Their lives are at stake. I love these people. I know that the Savior can heal them. He is the Great Physician and I am one of his nurses. He has called me. “I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I have been called of Him to declare His word among His people, that they might have everlasting life.” I know that the atonement is real. He healed me. I literally felt His healing power change me as He has forgiven me of my sins. It is very sacred to me. I know that Jesus Christ lives. 

    In the bible we see so many times of His power to heal manifest through miracles of physical healing. The lame, the leprous, the blind, the deaf. He even raised the dead. Through these miracles He showed the divine power that he has. He healed people physically to show us that he has power to heal us spiritually and “in any manner” (3 Nephi 17:7). The true miracle. He still works miracles today. He changes hearts and lives. He can heal us spiritually, emotionally and physically. He can literally strengthen us and make us clean. He can lighten our burden. I know this because I experienced it. Because of that, I want to share it. I want others to know that healing power of the atonement of Jesus Christ. It is real. He is real. He is the great physician and I am His nurse. My calling as a missionary is great and I will labor diligently to save these people who I love so much.

Leave a Reply

