Being an Instrument

Standard

This is a philosophy that I wrote on October 28, 2005 when I was in the Missionary Training Center in Provo, UT. I was in the MTC learning spanish and preparing to serve as a missionary in Mendoza, Argentina.

    I love music! I love to write piano music. I really have a passion for the beautiful art of song. It has a way to touch the soul deeply for me. It is a way that I communicate. I write songs that express my feelings and hopefully will be uplifting and invite the spirit. Sometimes I just play for hours because it is so relaxing to me. Most of the music that I write is like a prayer or a testimony. I write about what is most important to me and that is the gospel and my testimony of Jesus Christ and my Father in Heaven. The Lord has also answered many of my prayers through the music that I write. 

    I’m on a mission right now! While I was in a large group meeting in the MTC, my eyes were opened to a new perspective of the importance of being an instrument in the hands of the Lord. This is my goal, my sincere desire, to be an instrument in the hands of the Lord. I want to bring many of his children unto Christ. Like Ammon and his brethren, I want to be the Lord’s instrument. “And this is the blessing which hath been bestowed upon us, that we have been made instruments in the hands of God to bring about this great work.” (Alma 26:3) This is my dream! I want to be the Lord’s instrument to bring about this great work! 

    But what does it mean to be His instrument? Well, I know that the gospel of Jesus Christ is my joy and my song. The Lord has a beautiful song that he want’s everyone to hear. Music that will never be the same. It is a song that people long to hear and that everyone needs to hear. That song is the gospel of Jesus Christ, but the only way that he can play that song is if he has an instrument. For a song is nothing unless it can be played for others. 
 
    That’s what my music is to me. It is my testimony and my whole heart. I want to share it with anyone that will listen. It’s precious to me but it’s a waste unless I share it with others. What good is an unsung song? But if I didn’t have an instrument, no one would hear my song and so it is with the Lord. If he had no instruments, no one would be able to hear his beautiful song. 
 
    The beauty is that He does have instruments. Not only prophets and apostles, but US! The way that my life has been touched by the beautiful message of the savior and my Father is by the testimonies and the support of others. I would never have been able to know this beautiful message that God has for me, if He didn’t play his beautiful, heavenly song through my parents, bishops, brothers and sisters, friends, young women and relief society leaders. They were His instruments for me. 
 
    And not it is my call to be His instrument. That heavenly, divine song will be shared with the people of Argentina, Mendoza and everyone that I know. I want to share this holy song. I know that it’s true. How amazing is the call that is extended to all of us. To allow the Lord to use us as instruments that we may bring others unto Him. Like Alma, Ammon and their brethren . . . “How many thousands of our brethren has he loosed from the pains of hell; and they are brought to sing redeeming love, and this is because of the power of his word (song) which is in us. . . ” (Alma 26:13).
 
    In order to play His song divinely, we must fine tune ourselves and we must be in tune with the spirit! We must be changed by this message. “If ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now?” (Alma 5:26)
 
    Like a piano, we sometimes get out of tune. But we can continually allow this message to work deep within us. WE must continually fine tune ourselves so that we can be the instruments in the loving hands of God. 
 
     Share the gospel! If we are willing, God can touch the lives of many through us!
  
“There are things only you can do and you are alive to do them.
In the great orchestra we call life,
you have an instrument and a song
and you owe it to God to play them both sublimely.” -Max Lucado
 
 
Leave a Reply

